Honoring the Best of the Best

closeThis post was published 4 years 9 months 17 days ago. Please visit the Indian Nations Council home page, or the home page for your District, for the latest events and information. Thank you!

A Special Night:  The Council Recognition Banquet

February 22nd was a special night for the Indian Nations Council in many different ways.  Scouts and Scouters, along with loved ones, friends and colleagues, gathered to recognize the Donald E. Walker 2013 Class of Eagle Scouts, together with eight Silver Beaver Award recipients and three North Star Award recipients.

205 Scouts were presented with the Eagle Scout Award in 2013.  The 2013 Class of Eagle Scouts was named in honor of Donald E. Walker, a member of the Executive Committee and the immediate past President of the Council for 2012 and 2013.  Hans Helmerich, the current President, and Bill Haines, Council Scout Executive, presented a commemorative, engraved rifle to Don along with a plaque recognizing his exceptional service and outstanding leadership to the Council.  Don was also one of eight Scouters recognized with the Silver Beaver Award for their noteworthy and exceptional service to youth.  The 2013 recipients of the Silver Beaver Award were:  Dr. Keith E. Ballard, Phillip Bettinger, Robert Bridgewater, Nan Lea Dickson, Kenna M. Dunlay, Chris Falkensten, James R. Reh and Donald E. Walker.

Don, together with Hans and Bill, then individually presented almost 100 attending Eagle Scouts with a medallion commemorating their accomplishment, together with a unique council shoulder patch presented by Tulsa 26 Scouts Inc., the eighth in a series of Eagle Scout council service patches designed by Bill Shaffer, Scoutmaster of Troop 26.

Hans, Council President, addressed the room of attendees at the Renaissance Hotel and spoke, among other matters, of the bright future for the Council.  Throughout the evening, other successes were celebrated, and Mitchell Hiedorn was recognized with the Bernard T. Emery award by the Pine Tree Commission.

The other highlight of the evening centered upon two other awards.  John Sikes, Tulsa Red Castle Gun Club were each recognized with the North Star Award for their significant contributions to the Council as non-registered volunteers.  In addition, Principal Chief Bill John Baker and John Points were recognized with the NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award for their actions and accomplishments that have elevated the stature of Eagle Scouts in the public eye.

Frank Schad, who is the recipient of the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Service Project of the Year Award, led the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance, the Scout Oath and the Scout Law.  Frank designed and assembled a portrait of Albert Einstein using 2,544 rubric cubes for the Tulsa Air and Space Museum and Planetarium.  Jordan Mitchell, an Eagle Scout from Troop 81, presented the invocation.  Jim Holloman, Executive Committee member, served as the Master of Ceremonies.  He was assisted by David Cordell, Executive Committee member with the Silver Beaver Award recognitions.  Dow Hughes graciously provided photos of this year’s National Jamboree that were presented as a slideshow during dinner.