Whitney Young Awards

The 2017 Whitney M. Young, Jr. Service Awards Luncheon

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

The Summit Club | 11:45am – 1:15pm

whitney_youngThe Whitney M. Young, Jr. Service Award is named on behalf of Whitney M. Young, Jr., a prominent social reformer and civil rights leader. Born July 31, 1922, in Lincoln Ridge, Kentucky, he earned a Master’s Degree in Social Work from the University of Minnesota in 1947. He also received the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 1969. Young worked quietly to improve African-American workplace and community conditions. The national Whitney M. Young, Jr. Service Award is designed to recognize “unsung heroes” – those who do exceptional service for disadvantaged youth. The mission of the Whitney M. Young, Jr. Service Award Luncheon is to celebrate community resources in support of the Scouting Program for at-risk youth, and further provide experiences that develop self-esteem, character values, and life skills thereby.

2017 Recipients

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Oklahoma

KJRH Food 2 Families

Melton Truck Lines

Muscogee Creek Nation

Tulsa Community Foundation

Tulsa’s Young Professionals

Wayman L. Tisdale Foundation

Zink Family Foundations 

Sponsorship Levels

  • $5,000 | Premium Seating for 10, Supports 27 Scouts for a Full Year
  • $2,500 | Premium Seating for 8, Supports 13 Scouts for a Full Year
  • $1,000 | Includes Seating for 8, Supports 5 Scouts for a Full Year
  • $200 | Includes Seating for 3, Supports 1 Scout for a Full Year
  • $75 | Individual Ticket, Supports Continued Services & Programs for Youth

2017 Information Brochure HERE


Jill Easley, Director of Development

jeasley@okscouts.org | (918) 743-6125


Past Award Recipients

 Arvest Bank  Mark Walker, Spirit AeroSystems
 Bank of America  Marquay Baul
 Barbara & Thomas E. Naugle  Marsha Mitchell, The Little Light House
 Bill John Baker, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation  Marvin Blades
 Carlisle Mabrey, Citizens Security Bank  Melinda Stinnett, Stinnett & Associates
 Honorable Judge Carlos Chappelle  Michael Johnson, Williams Company
 Dr. Cathy Burden, Retired Superintendent Union Public Schools  Millard House II, Tulsa Public Schools
 Chadwick Smith, Principal Chief Charokee Nation  The Nordam Group, Inc.
 Reverend Clarence Boyd  ONEOK, Inc.
 Community Service Council  Owasso Community Resources
 City Councilman Jack Henderson, District 1  Pat Baldwin, KTUL
 County Wide Gang Task Force  Paula Marshall, Bama Companies
 Honorable Judge David Winslow, District Court Family Law  Ray Driscoll, Tulsa Fire Department
 Dick Williamson, T.D. Williamson, Inc.  Richard Boone, St. John Health System Foundation
 Family & Children’s Services  Sarah and John Graves
 Gospel Tabernacle Church of God in Christ  Mr. Stan Gardner, Scoutmaster & Community Volunteer
 The Grace & Franklin Bernsen Foundation  Sheriff Stanley Glanz
 The Greater Tulsa Hispanic Chamber of Commerce  Dr. Tom Mckeon, Tulsa Community College
 Greenwood Cultural Center  Tony Brown
 Hannibal Johnson  Tulsa Area United Way
 Hardesty Family Foundation, Inc.  Tulsa Boys Home
 Mr. Henry Zarrow  Tulsa Metro Chamber
 Howard Bennett, OSU Tulsa  Tulsa Metro Drugs & Violent Crimes Task Force
 Jeff Reasor, Reasor’s  Wesley Mitchell
 Dr. Keith Ballard, Tulsa Public Schools  William K. Warren Foundation
 Kevin Sartorius, Catholic Charities]  Posthumously, Adina and Ivan Williams, Williams Construction
 Larry Mocha  Yolanda Charney, Community Advocate
 Lester Shaw, Pocket Full of Hope  Youth Services of Tulsa